FAQ

SIENNA sensors and actuators use the 230V powerline as a communication bus. The components can communicate over all 3 phases without any phase couplers or other central units. Any sensor can control any actuator within a building independent of the actual electrical wiring. This combines the flexibility of wireless system with the reliability of a wired system.

The range is typically 300m cable length between the sensor and actuator independent of the actual phase. The components do not require additional phase couplers or frequency filters. A three-phase current cable (typically connecting the electricity meter and power distributor or the connection to the cooking range) is sufficient for the phase coupling. In cases where the sensor and actuator are on the same phase then the range extends up to approx. 2 km.

SIENNA components communicate via the powerline and this communication works over all 3 phases without the use of additional phase couplers. A three-phase current cable (typically connecting the electricity meter and power distributor or the connection to the cooking range) is sufficient for the phase coupling.

During installation the SIENNA components generate a domain (or building) address via a patented process. As a result neighboring buildings are logically separated from each other preventing any interference.

Up to 200 SIENNA nodes can be installed in a single building. In case the no. of nodes is greater than 200, a slight delay may be observed during execution of switching commands.

SIENNA uses the LON Standard and is compatible with other LonWorks based systems. Echelon’s LonWorks is a ISO/IEC- and ANSI-compliant platform that enables some of the world’s most advanced control and energy management applications. Normally LonWorks is used for commercial buildings and for big projects e.g. Munich Airport, the Reichstag in Berlin, the new trade fair center in Stuttgart. etc. SIENNA is the first system that offers LonWorks based products for residential buildings.

Troubleshooting

In most cases the addresses (rotary switches) are not identical.

Solution:
The addresses can be changed / corrected via the rotary switches. No reset is necessary!

The sensor has an high input resistance connected to the 230V input “1”. For cable lengths > 10m between the switch and the input, it may occur that the voltage at the connecting wire is not completely reduced to ground– this results in the sensor not responding correctly.

Solution:
A load module connected to the sensor between the connecting wire (Input “1”) and ground reduces the voltage at the input so that the sensor can function correctly.

The sensors used for motor control have low-voltage inputs and they can only be connected to potential-free switching elements. Outputs (e.g. timers) that are not potential-free have to be made potential-free (e.g. by using an intermediate relay). If the 230V output is directly connected to the sensor inputs, the sensor will see a zero-crossing every 10 ms and will try to start and stop the motor with the mains frequency.

Solution:
Connect the sensor inputs to potential-free switching elements.

SIENNA modules generate a domain / area address during the installation process (see section on “Installation” in the user manual) Different domain addresses logically separate neighboring buildings / areas from one another. If the modules are configured sequentially, different domain addresses are generated preventing the modules from communicating with each other.

Solution:
Reset all modules by using the RESET button and then configure all modules in a single installation process (see section on “Installation” in the user manual).

For more information please contact our support staff.

SUPPORT

Fragen / FAQ

SIENNA Sensoren und Aktoren nutzen die 230V Leitungen eines Gebäudes als Kommunikationsbus – und dies über alle 3 Phasen hinweg ohne Phasenkoppler oder anderen Zentraleinheiten. Damit kann jeder Sensor jeden beliebigen Aktor innnerhalb eines Gebäudes steuern – unabhänging vom Stromkreis oder der Leitungsführung. Dies vereint die Flexibilität von Funksystemen mit der Zuverlässigkeit leitungsgebundener Systeme.

Phasenübergreifend ist die Reichweite zwischen Sensor und Aktor typischerweise 300m Kabellänge. Dabei werden keine Phasenkoppler oder Frequenzsperren nach außen benötigt. Eine Drehstromleitung (typischerweise zwischen Zähler und Verteilung oder Zuleitung zum Herd) ist für die Phasenkopplung ausreichend. Sind Sensor und Aktor auf derselben Phase, beträgt die Reichweite ca. 2 km.

SIENNA arbeitet grundsätzlich ohne Phasenkoppler und funktioniert dennoch über alle 3 Phasen hinweg. Eine Drehstromleitung (typischerweise zwischen Zähler und Verteilung oder Zuleitung zum Herd) ist für die Phasenkopplung ausreichend.

Durch das patentierte SIENNA Verfahren erzeugen die SIENNA Module bei die Inbetriebnahme selbständig eine Domain- bzw. Wohnungsadresse. Dadurch werden benachbarte Wohnungen logisch getrennt und können sich nicht beeinflussen.

In einem Gebäude können bis zu 200 SIENNA Knoten eingesetzt werden. Bei einer höheren Anzahl kann es zu geringfügigen Verzögerungen beim Ausführen von Schaltbefehlen kommen.

SIENNA den LonWorks Standard und ist mit anderen LonWorks Systemen kompatibel. LonWorks ist ein weltweiter, sehr mächtiger Standard (ISO/IEC- and ANSI-kompatibel) in der Gebäudetechnik, der bisher nur in Großprojekten zum Einsatz kam (z.B. Flughafen München, Stuttgarter Messe, Berliner Reichstag). Mit SIENNA sind LON-Produkte erstmals für den normalen Wohnungsbau verfügbar.

Problemlösungen

In der Regel sind die Adressen (Drehschalter) nicht exakt gleich.

Lösung:
Die Adressen können über die Drehschalter jederzeit verändert oder korrigiert werden – ohne Reset !

Der Sensor hat einen hohen Eingangswiederstand am 230V Eingang „1“. Bei einer Leitungslänge > 10m zwischen Schalter und Eingang wird möglicherweise die Spannung auf dem Schaltdraht nicht auf Null abgebaut und der Sensor reagiert dadurch nicht.

Lösung:
Ein Grundlastmodul am Sensor zwischen der Schaltdraht (Eingang „1“) und dem Nullleiter baut die Spannung bei geöffnetem Eingang ab und der Sensor funktioniert korrekt.

Der Sensor für Motorsteuerungen haben eine interne Kleinspannung an den Eingängen. Die Eingänge müssen deshalb potenzialfrei beschaltet werden. Potenzialbehaftete Ausgänge – z.B. an Zeitschaltuhren – müssen durch ein Trennrelais potenzialfrei umgesetzt werden. Wird die 230V Spannung direkt auf den Sensoreingang gegeben, sieht der Sensor alle 10 mSek. einen Nulldurchgang der Spannung und versucht dem Motor mit der Netzfrequenz zu starten und zu stoppen.

Lösung:
Eingänge der Motorsensoren potenzialfrei beschalten.

Bei der Inbetriebnahme erzeugen die SIENNA® Module eine Domain- bzw. Wohnungsadresse (siehe auch „Inbetriebnahme“ in der Installationsanleitung). Verschiedene Wohnungsadressen trennen z.B. Nachbarhäuser logisch voneinander. Werden Systeme nacheinander in Betrieb genommen, werden verschiedene Wohnungsadressen erzeugt und die Module reagieren nicht aufeinander.

Lösung:
Alle Module durch RESET zurücksetzen und durch ein einmaliges Einlernverfahren alle Module gleichzeitig in Betrieb nehmen (siehe auch „Inbetriebnahme“ in der Installationsanleitung).

Für weitere Fragen steht Ihnen gerne unser Support persönlich zur Verfügung.

SUPPORT